WCVM alumna joins 4-H Hall of Fame

Dr. Maryanne Sandberg

Dr. Maryanne Sandberg.

Dr. Maryanne Sandberg, a 1975 WCVM graduate, will be inducted into the Alberta 4-H Hall of Fame in recognition of her many contributions over the past 25 years.

The long-time veterinarian will be honoured on January 15 during the annual 4-H Leaders’ Conference in Red Deer, Alta.

Sandberg, who has contributed to Alberta 4-H since 1987, has been involved with the Fort Macleod Midnight Riders 4-H Light Horse Club, the Willow Creek Wranglers and the Fort Macleod 4-H Beef Club.

She has received numerous awards while holding executive positions with the Willow Creek 4-H District Council, the Southern Regional 4-H Council and the Alberta 4-H Council. Sandberg now chairs the 4-H Foundation of Alberta board of directors – the organization responsible for the finances of Alberta 4-H programs and for the operation of the Alberta 4-H Centre at Battle Lake.

After earning her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degree, Sandberg practised veterinary medicine for 27 years before her retirement in 2002. An active community member, she is currently president of the Fort Macleod and District Agricultural Society and is a school board trustee for the Willow Creek and Livingstone Range. She is also on the Board of Governors for the University of Lethbridge.

Since its creation in 1971, the Alberta 4-H Hall of Fame has recognized 73 men and women for their contributions to Alberta’s rural youth and agriculture and their commitment to the 4-H pledge of service and commitment to club, community and country.

Candidates for the award are nominated by members or leaders from their local clubs and councils. Each nomination is evaluated by a selection committee comprised of members from the provincial 4-H council and the 4-H Foundation as well as representatives from Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development.

Comments are closed.